Best Valentine’s Day present EVER!

So, in addition to today being the wondrous celebration of books and reading that is International Book Giving Day, February 14th also happens to be Valentine’s Day.  M and I don’t usually make a huge deal about it, but this year I wish I had done something more than get him a card (well, two cards, but still…) because he MADE me this:

IMG_4983Yep, it’s the entire text of one of my favourite books (‘This Moose Belongs To Me‘ *, by Oliver Jeffers, published by HarperCollins Children’s Books), typed into a hand drawn moose, complete with ‘Marcel’ name tag.  I am officially the luckiest woman in the world.

Only yesterday I had been saying to M – incurable romantic that I am – how he shouldn’t worry about getting flowers as they’d only set off his hay fever and it’s hard to find a place to put them with two adventurous young children constantly on the prowl for new and exciting things to investigate.  Instead I mentioned that, as today was International Book Giving Day, giving and receiving books would be far more meaningful anyway.  Little did I know that he had already finished this awesome gift!  Here’s a close-up:

IMG_4984I can’t wait to get it framed and find exactly the right place to hand so that I can admire it endlessly.  It is a perfect page of happiness and combines the things (other than my children) I love the most – M and books.  I LOVE it.

TTFN

*  Please do click on this link – not only because it has a review of the book and chance for you to buy it for yourselves, but because if you scroll down to the bottom of the page, you can find a video made by Oliver Jeffers about how he works.  It’s AMAZING.

 

 

7 comments

  1. What a very lovely gift!

  2. That is so beautiful! What a lovely gift. Not that I’m jealous. Much!

    1. I’m thinking of suggesting that he sets up his own business doing this – it’s starting to seem as though there’s a market for it ;-)

  3. An excellent gift for a book lover, and so creative too!

  4. bookaholicmum · · Reply

    Wow! How thoughtful and romantic!

  5. Your hubby is very thoughtful and creative. Love it! Will look great framed and on your wall.
    He’ll have to start up his own blog!! I’ve read some of Oliver Jeffers’ books but haven’t heard of this one.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,794 other followers

