Some fun in the sun!

Check me out – two days in a row – woo hoooo!

I was so chuffed to get a response yesterday that I’ve been inspired to write again today.  I’m working on the basis that getting into the habit of updating this regularly will help and that I don’t always have to write the reams and reams that I did yesterday!

I actually do have a couple of lovely story-related anecdotes from today, which have spurred me on to witter again.  H’s copy of ‘Orange Pear Apple Bear’, by Emily Gravett, arrived (we have had the paperback out from the library a few times, but I felt that board book version might suit him better at this stage!) and both C and H had great fun with it!  H just loves the simple story and pictures and he much preferred being able to handle the book to his heart’s desire, turning the pages back and forth at speed 🙂  C was very proud that he could ‘read’ the whole book to both me and H and it was the first thing he ran to tell his daddy when M arrived home from work.

As the weather was so gorgeous today, and M had got home a bit early for once, we decided to go for a walk in the fields near our house after the boys had had dinner.  This, of course, involved some serious stick hunting and romping through long grass.  Without any prompting, C referenced two books that we’ve read with him in the past, but neither of them particularly recently.  He started reciting chunks of ‘We’re going on a bear hunt’ by Michael Rosen and Helen Oxenbury as we traipsed through the “swishy, swashy grass” and the “squelchy, squerchy” mud, then he told us that his stick was called ‘Stanley’, after ‘Stanley’s Stick’, by John Hegley and Neal Layton.  It makes me feel all warm and fuzzy inside that all the reading we do isn’t an isolated activity and that it permeates through into his everyday life.

H is showing early signs of adopting his older brother’s tendency to have a ‘favourite page’ in every book and at bedtime this evening, we yet again spent a LONG time on the peek-a-boo page of ‘Pat the bunny’, by Dorothy Kunhardt.  It’s so brilliant seeing his genuine happiness and hearing his belly laughs when you shout PEEK-A-BOO for what feels like the hundredth time 🙂

I had a couple of hours to do some more thinking / planning for Story Seekers today, so will try and make it three in a row and write about that tomorrow.

TTFN xxxx

4 comments

  1. It’s so lovely when they make connections isn’t it!

    1. I know – I completely understand that it happens all the time and that they take on so much more than we probably realise, but it gives me butterflies in my tummy every time! I still find it awesome (and very scary!) that the things I do clearly have an effect on C and H – you’d think I’d be used to it having been a teacher, but it used to amaze me even in the classroom. Exciting stuff 🙂

  2. I’ve been enjoying reading your posts and finding out about the different types of stories your children like reading. It’s amazing how much they learn at such a young age by having stories read to them. My girls (6 and 2) and I also love reading and I think it is very special when I see them cuddled up on the couch with my 6-year old reading to her little sister. We too have “We’re going on a bear hunt” and I’ve used it at school with a year one class which they loved. Look forward to reading more of your blogs.

  3. Thank you very much! I meant to post a reply to this yesterday, but got carried away with a few fairy stories (C is starting to get into them now, which is fab!)> I checked out your blog as well and it’s brilliant, so can’t wait to read more about what you’re up to as well.

Leave a Reply

