One small step for Story Seekers…

It feels as though quite a few exciting things have happened recently here in Story Seekers Land.  Logically I know that they’re not a huge deal, but they are little bits that actually feel quite significant to me.

Firstly, I’ve decided to do a very small (and incredibly biased) trial run of some potential Story Seekers ‘lesson plan’ ideas with C and H and two of their very good friends, J and L.  These two lovelies are the children of a good friend and we currently have a cooking session together every Monday.  However, my friend and I are looking for ways to mix it up a bit, so I decided that I’d put together a little programme of activities based on a different book each week (I’m using ‘Winnie the Witch’ by Valerie Thomas and Korky Paul on Monday) just to see how it went.  I’ll report back after the event!

Secondly, I’ve signed up to attend a really exciting looking event at the Ministry of Stories in September and on the same day, I’m going to take a look around somewhere that I’ve wanted to visit for ages – the Discover Story Centre in Stratford, London.  I feel as though both places are going to leave me brimming with inspiration and motivation and I’m so looking forward to writing about all of it on here.

Thirdly, I’m hoping to set up a local children’s book group as part of the Federation of Children’s Book Groups.  I know there’ll be lots of work involved but I’m hoping that there are some kindred spirits in my area who’d love to get involved, as I really feel as though our town could support a thriving group and would really benefit from working alongside the FCBG.  The plan would be to get parents and children involved, as well as local schools, nurseries / pre-schools, children’s centres and libraries.  Even more to write about on here at a later date (the group will hopefully get going towards the end of this year).

Fourthly, I am getting to the exciting stage (well, exciting to me as a children’s book geek anyway!) stage of revamping the story sacks for C’s pre-school.  I’m really enjoying thinking through how best to approach the final elements of this task and am hoping to share some of my ideas on here – feedback will, as always, be gratefully received.

Finally, I’m going to be running some storytelling sessions in our local Oxfam bookshop in the autumn.  I went in yesterday for our usual weekly visit – it was quiet and the lovely lady was behind the counter (all the staff are fab, but I will adore this particular lady forever after she let C use the staff loo when he was caught short in there a couple of months ago.  She didn’t even flinch when he proceeded to take the digger book he’d just found into the toilet with him.  Needless to say I bought the book, along with several others, afterwards!  Anyway, I digress…).  I channelled my mum’s acting advice and casually enquired, as we purchased a bumper stack of old-school Paddington books, as to whether they’d like me to come in and run some storytelling and activity sessions at some point.  They LOVED the idea (even when I was only halfway through my extensively rehearsed spiel about what I could offer them!) and the manager and I are having a meeting in September about how best to plan and advertise the events.  Yet more to waffle away about on here and another step towards Story Seekers becoming an actual, real life, proper, living and breathing ‘thing’.

TTFN

3 comments

  1. Wow, you’ve been so busy. The storytelling sessions at Oxfam sound fabulous – you’ll have to let us know how you get on.

  2. Sounds like your storyseeker sessions are coming together nicely. I pressed ‘follow’ on your blog back when you started it but hadn’t received any posts so I thought you mustn’t have been doing it anymore. I just thought I’d have a look and see today and wow!, you’ve been doing stacks. I’ve just been catching up on all your posts. You’ve accomplished so much already. Well done.

    1. Thank you so much for your supportive comments, it’s very kind and it means a lot as I often feel as though I’m spinning around with a million ideas in my head but that I haven’t actually achieved terribly much.
      I am looking forward to running the story sessions at our local Oxfam charity bookshop – there’s a Christmas one in the middle of December and then four (so far) in the first few months of 2013. My theme is ‘Woodlands and Wild Things’ and I’m currently getting all my resources together to plan for those.
      My other main projects are creating some more story sacks (on the theme of festivals) for my elder son’s pre-school and trying to get a local FCBG group started in my town. Hopefully I’ll have some updates on all of the above in the not-too-distant future!
      Although I follow your blog via email, I just had a browse around your website and have really enjoyed some of your posts written before I signed up (especially seeing some of the similarities between what libraries in here and in Australia do to promote the value of reading). It’s definitely served as a reminder for me to do that more often as it’s such a shame to miss stuff!

Leave a Reply

