Christmas loft treasure no.2 – ‘Angelina’s Christmas’, Katherine Holabird, illustrated by Helen Craig

IMG_4107

In the second post about my festive loft treasures, I’d like to share a book from a series that my sister and I used to absolutely adore when we were younger.  This makes sense for her, as the Angelina Ballerina books are about a little mouse who loves ballet.  My mum used to call my sister ‘Little Mouse’ and my sister has a not inconsiderable amount of dancing talent.  It makes less sense for me, as I was more celebrated for my ability to read a book under my covers for hours without being discovered.  I also look like a guinea pig on a sugar high when I attempt to throw shapes.

Anyhoo, we loved the Angelina books and this was one was a particular favourite, not only for its Christmas theme but also for the beautiful wintery illustrations.  The pale shades seem to perfectly suit the gentle tale – Angelina’s excitement about her Christmas dance show, which is then tempered when she realises that Mr Bell, the postman, is going to be lonely over Christmas.

IMG_4109

Needless to say, she works out a way to include Mr Bell in the festivities and also invites him to her show, where she dances as a sugar plum fairy in the Nutcracker Suite.  Never one to to whom coolness and stred cred came naturally, the first ever tape I bought with my own money was not Kylie or Jason or some other equally streetwise pop act (though they did come soon after) but a recording of Tchaikovsky’s Nutcracker Suite.  Clearly this book had a greater impression on me than I’d realised…

One of the reasons I like this story now I’m older is for the message it sends is about Christmas being a time to think about others more than ourselves and about how for some people, the festive season is miserable and unwelcoming and not as glee-filled as all the adverts pronounce.  The boys and I will be keeping our eyes peeled for any ‘Mr Bells’ this year, to see if we can take the time to make their Christmas a little cheerier.  Thanks, Angelina.

TTFN

2 comments

  1. I loved reading Angelina to my daughter when she was little. Your post brought back lovely memories as she tried so hard at her ballet classes but was never really a natural! Angelina was so kind to people.

    1. Thanks so much for commenting! I agree, all the Angelina stories are lovely and can be enjoyed regardless of the extent of our personal dancing talents 🙂

Leave a Reply

