Christmas loft treasure no.4 – ‘Mog’s Christmas’, by Judith Kerr

IMG_4095

This gorgeous book was among my own loft treasures, but I know Judith Kerr’s delightful protagonist will be familiar to people of many different ages as well.

This particular adventure of Mog’s details how she feels about the Thomas family’s Christmas preparations (to sum up: not a fan) but this is nothing compared with how she feels when the Christmas tree is brought into the house.  Poor old Mog ends up here:

IMG_4097

which seems quite the right place to escape to when confronted with a walking, talking tree.

The Thomas family, however, are unaware of her woes and try to entice her back into the warm house, but to no avail.  Eventually, Mog does reappear, utilising a dramatic stage entrance technique that I shan’t spoil for you here.  The family are delighted to see her again and after a quick bath the Christmas celebrations can commence in style.

IMG_4099

Growing up, we always had dogs, so I was never really a ‘cat’ person but reading these stories always used to make me pester my parents for a kitten.  Mog is a fine cat – not overly troublesome but not teeth-gratingly cutesome either – and rereading these stories as an adult reminds me of just how what a lovely character Judith Kerr created.

This is the first Mog story I’ve shared with C so far, but he was a huge fan of ‘The Tiger Who Came To Tea’ and immediately recognised that both books had the same illustrator (and indeed author).  I like to think that H noticed the similarities as well, but his limited vocabulary means I can’t quite be sure 😉  Both books (along with the rest of the Mog series) deserve to be part of the boy’s future loft treasures in the same way as they are such an important part of mine.

TTFN

2 comments

  1. Mog the Forgetful Cat has always been one of my all-time favourites since I was little. I get the Christmas one out every year, if I’ve bothered to hide it away at all! 🙂

    1. Some Christmas books deserve to be out all year! 🙂

Leave a Reply

