New year’s resolutions for Story Seekers

Firstly, HAPPY NEW YEAR!  I’m really excited about entering my first full year of blogging and have high hopes for the progress of Story Seekers in 2013!

I have a few book reviews coming up and I have to say that I’m really enjoying writing reviews for some of the lovely books that the boys and I share.  I couldn’t possibly post about them all, but I do like picking out the ones that have made a real impression on us.  When I first started this blog I wasn’t sure how I felt about doing reviews – partly because there are already so many great book bloggers out there that I wasn’t sure I could add anything, but also because I thought the blog might be better if it was solely about Story Seekers.

However, the start of a new year has provided time for a moment (and it is definitely only a moment, as C and H are certainly *not* on board with me staring into the middle distance and contemplating the future for any great length of time…) of reflection and the following are the thoughts that I have thunk…

Firstly, because the development of Story Seekers is going to be somewhat slow until H starts school, I’m probably not going have enough thrilling updates to maintain an interesting blog.  Therefore, it’s nice to have something else to include as well.

Secondly, my VERY long term plan for this blog is that it will become part of the Story Seekers website and that it will be, among other things, a useful resource for the parents of the children who take part in Story Seekers sessions and events.  Thus, it’s worth me noting that book reviews will probably be something that parents would find helpful so it’s actually not deviating from the Story Seekers plan too much anyway.

Thirdly, and most importantly, I LOVE books and I LOVE writing about them and I LOVE sharing them with the boys. Having a record of this in years to come (I’m a great hoarder, of memories in particular!) will be something that I treasure.

So, to finish, here are my New Year’s resolutions for Story Seekers:

1 – To keep seeking out great books and reading experiences and blogging about them as often as I can.

2 – To try and conduct some sort of (no doubt quite amateurish) market research into the various components of my Story Seekers idea.  My main worry is that there are already so many baby and toddler classes in my local area, so if possible I’m going to try and find out what people think of those classes and how open they are to a potential newcomer on the scene.

3 – I’d like to try and create some booklists, as a resource for readers but also as a resource for myself.  I currently keep a rather unwieldy spreadsheet detailing every book we have and some basic information about them, but am starting to think about alternative ways of storing the information.  I have also joined Goodreads, but not had time to do anything with it yet, so if anyone has any advice on that then please do shout!

I hope you’re all excited about 2013 as well and would love to hear about any reading resolutions you may have 🙂

TTFN

2 comments

  1. I think doing book reviews is a great way forward – I hope you have lots of fun with them. As to book lists, don’t forget that the Federation of Children’s Book Groups has booklists which could provide a starting point: http://www.fcbg.org.uk/booklists/

    1. Thanks Zoe! I have looked at the FCBG lists, but it was a while ago now so I’ll definitely be perusing them again.

Leave a Reply

