Book lists (kind of, sort of…)

I’d love to be able to populate this site with really useful book lists, ones that help people to find the right book for the the right moment or just to browse if they’re looking for inspiration.

However, I think it’ll be a while before I have the time to create such lists and luckily there are actually a few such resources available already – it’s definitely worth keeping an eye on the lists over on the Federation of Children’s Book Group’s site, for example.

In the meantime, I’ve created a page here on the blog as a way to keep track of the Pinterest boards I compile showing what the boys and I read each month.  The boards show everything we’ve read, so some books may appear in more than one month if the boys are particularly fond of them.  I’m going to try and remember to write a few words about the book under each picture (starting this month), though it remains to be seen how religiously I’ll stick to that goal…

I’ll write a quick blog post each month with a link to the relevant Pinterest board and we might even go so far as to choose a ‘book of the month’ each as well.  Who knows, maybe we’ll even get M (my husband) to join in, he’s been showing a very keen interest in the blog lately… *looks knowingly to camera and taps nose*

So, without further ado, here are the links to January and February’s boards:

January 2013

My book of the month was: ‘Ernest and Celestine’, by Gabrielle Vincent

C’s book of the month was: ‘Foxly’s Feast’, by Owen Davey

H’s book of the month was: ‘The Tiger Who Came To Tea’, by Judith Kerr

February 2013

My book of the month was: ‘Olivia and the Fairy Princesses’, by Ian Falconer

C’s book of the month was: ‘Just Imagine’, by Pippa Goodhart and Nick Sharratt

H’s book of the month was: ‘Hooray For Bread’, by Allan Ahlberg and Bruce Ingman

TTFN

One comment

  1. Great idea. Will be interesting to see what your favourite books are each month. Last library lesson I read an Ernest and Celestine book to the class – they were off to the circus.

Leave a Reply

