Our reading list – February 2014

So, here’s our round-up for February, which has seen us add more books than I was anticipating to our 300PBs board.  Here, also, is the link to our Pinterest board for the books we read in February.  This includes books that were also read in January, as well as a couple of chapter books and C’s reading books from school (none of which feature on our 300PBs board).

I wasn’t quite sure where to put C’s reading books as they are highly illustrated so technically ‘count’ as picture books for the 300PB challenge, but for some reason I hesitated about including them.  They’re books that we ‘have’ to read rather than those we choose to read and while C is incredibly enthusiastic and excited about the progress he’s making with reading independently, these are never stories he pulls out at bedtime with a yearning to hear them again.  Any thoughts on this most welcome!

I’m also beating myself up about the fact that this is the first post I’ve done since our reading list update for January.  It’s not for lack of things to write about, but I seem to have got myself overwhelmed by all the other great children’s book blogs out there and thus never feel as though I have anything to add to the conversation.

I know part of this is me getting my head around having another baby and working out how everything is going to fit in once that happens – C and H are quite close in age so I didn’t get much of anything (beyond survival!) done until H was a bit older, but there’ll be a bigger gap between H and our little Beanie (due in July) and since coming out of H’s baby haze I’ve started this blog, had ideas about changing my future career and generally been able to indulge my passion for all things reading and book related 🙂

I’m incredibly excited about Beanie’s arrival and I know that the baby haze won’t last forever and I’ll be able to get back to all those thoughts and plans I’ve already come up with, but at the moment I feel in limbo and as though I’m watching everyone else do all these great things while I just step back and don’t join in…

Anyway, as Granny would have said (channelling her own dad in the Coldstream Guards), “Chin up, chest out!”  I know I enjoy writing about books and I know I LOVE reading them and sharing them with C and H, so I think the key here – as with so many things I do – is to stop overthinking everything and Just. Get. On. With. It.

Sorry to drag you all along with me during that splurge – there’s nothing anyone need say, but it does help me to write it down here.  Back to the topic in hand…

Below are our books of the month.

Me – ‘The Yes‘ by Sarah Bee, illustrated by Satoshi Kitamura

C – ‘Eliot Jones, Midnight Superhero‘ by Anne Cottringer, illustrated by Alex T. Smith

H – ‘How Did That Get In My Lunchbox?  The Story Of Food‘ by Chris Butterworth, illustrated by Lucia Gaggiotti

TTFN

2 comments

  1. Love love LOVE Eliot Jones!

  2. It’s SO awesome, isn’t it?!? We got it when H first got glasses so that he could see himself in lots of books, but it’s one of the ones that’s stayed the distance and is now currently pulled out all the time to feed C’s obsession with superheroes 🙂

Leave a Reply

